Visit The South's Rap Battle Home

Monday, November 18, 2019

Chris Brown and Drake Win Big at Soul Train Awards

Posted by Unknown on 12:48 PM

Chris Brown and Drake were the big winners at the BET 2019 Soul Train Awards.

Their Indigo collaboration “No Guidance” received three awards including Song of the Year, Best Dance Performance, and Best Collaboration Performance at the 32nd annual awards show, which aired lived from the Orleans Hotel in Las Vegas on Sunday night.

Brown led with eight nominations, followed by Drake with seven nods. While nether was in attendance, a grateful Chris took to Instagram to thank fans for their support. “THANK YOU GOD !!! THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING ME ❤ I LOVE YOU. It means the world to me,” he said following Sunday’s win.

Six-time nominee Lizzo took home two awards for Video of the Year for “Juice” and Album/Mixtape of the Year for Cuz I Love You.

Other winners included Summer Walker, who won her first-ever award for Best New Artist. The “Playing Games” singer, who recently canceled her tour dates due to social anxiety, was on hand to accept the award. “Thank you so much. I didn’t expect this,” she said.

Cardi B took home the Rhythm & Bars award for “Money,” H.E.R. was named Best R&B/Soul Female Artist, and Beyoncé won the Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award for “Brown Skin Girl,” which she shared with her daughter Blue Ivy Carter.

The 2019 BET Soul Train Awards featured performances from Wale featuring Jeremih and Kelly Price, Queen Naija, K. Michelle, SiR, Boyz II Men, Luke James, BJ the Chicago Kid, and more. Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis received The Legends Award and Yolanda Adams was honored with the Lady of Soul Award.

See a full list of winners below.

Best New Artist
Summer Walker
Lucky Daye
Nicole Bus
Pink Sweat$
YK Osiris

Soul Train Certified Award
Trevor Jackson
Daniel Caesar
Kelly Rowland

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award
Kirk Franklin
Bebe Winans
Donald Lawrence
Erica Campbell
Tasha Cobbs Leonard
Tori Kelly

Rhythm & Bars Award
Cardi B, “Money
21 Savage feat J. Cole, “A Lot”
DaBaby, “Suge”
J. Cole, “Middle Child”
Meek Mill feat. Drake, “Going Bad”
Megan Thee Stallion feat. DaBaby, “Cash Shit”

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Ari Lennox
Mary J. Blige
Summer Walker

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Anderson .Paak
Bruno Mars
Chris Brown
Daniel Caesar

Album/Mixtape of the Year
Cuz I Love You, Lizzo
Shea Butter Baby, Ari Lennox
Indigo, Chris Brown
Ella Mai, Ella Mai
I Used To Know Her, H.E.R.
Free Spirit, Khalid

Song of the Year
“No Guidance,” Chris Brown feat. Drake
“Before I Let Go,” Beyoncé
“Shot Clock,” Ella Mai
“Talk,” Khalid
“Juice,” Lizzo
“Girls Need Love (Remix),” Summer Walker feat. Drake

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award
“Brown Skin Girl,” written by Beyoncé Knowles, Carlos St. John, Adio Marchant, Shawn Carter, Stacy Barthe, Anathi Mnyango, Michael Uzowuru, Ayodeji Balogun, Richard Isong (Beyoncé feat. Saint Jhn, Wizkid & Blue Ivy Carter)
“Hard Place,” written by H.E.R., David Harris, Sam Ashworth & Ruby Amanfu (H.E.R.)
“Juice,” written by Theron Thomas, Sam Sumser, Sean Small, Eric Frederic & Melissa Jefferson (Lizzo)
“Make It Better,” written by Brandon Anderson, William Smokey Robinson, Alaina Chenevert, Miguel Atwood Ferguson, Daniel Manman Farid Nassar (Anderson .Paak feat. Smokey Robinson)
“No Guidance,” written by Christopher Brown, Aubrey Graham, Anderson Hernandez, Josha Lewis, Michee Lebrun, Nija Charles, Teddy Walton, Noah Shebib & Tyler Bryant (Chris Brown feat. Drake)
“Talk,” written by Howard Lawrence, Guy Lawrence & Khalid Robinson (Khalid)

Best Dance Performance
Chris Brown feat. Drake, “No Guidance”
Beyoncé, “Spirit”
Danileigh feat. Chris Brown, “Easy (Remix)”
Lizzo, “Juice”
Normani, “Motivation”
Teyana Taylor, “WTP”

Video of the Year
Lizzo, “Juice”
Alicia Key, “Raise A Man”
Beyoncé, “Spirit”
Childish Gambino, “Feels Like Summer”
Khalid, “Better”

Best Collaboration Performance
Chris Brown feat. Drake, “No Guidance”
Ari Lennox feat. J. Cole, “Shea Butter Baby”
Beyoncé feat. Saint Jhn, Wizkid & Blue Ivy Carter, “Brown Skin Girl”
Cardi B & Bruno Mars, “Please Me”
PJ Morton & JoJo, “Say So”
Ty Dolla $ign feat. J. Cole, “Purple Emoji”


Post a Comment

  • RSS
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin

Search Site

  • Pageviews past week