Visit The South's Rap Battle Home

Thursday, January 11, 2018

New Music: Jay Rock, Kendrick Lamar, & Future – ‘King’s Dead’

Posted by Unknown on 1:31 PM

Red light, green light.

Fresh off “All the Stars” with SZA, Kendrick Lamar teams up with Future and Jay Rock on “King’s Dead,” the latest song off Black Panther: The Album.

The high-powered collaboration features a thumping instrumental that allows K-Dot, Rock, and Hndrxx to deliver show-stopping performances. “Miss me with that bullshit,” raps K-Dot. “You ain’t really wild, you a tourist / I be blacking out with the purest.”

Fellow TDE star Jay Rock takes the baton and shows why he’s a “boss like Top Dawg” with a quick-paced fiery delivery: “I got pull, I hope y’all ready / My tank on full, you know, unleaded / I gotta go get it.”

With a raspy voice, Pluto supplies a sing-songy flow with a Three 6 Mafia and Slick Rick influence. “La-di-dadi-da,” he raps. “Slob on me knob / Pass me some syrup, fuck me in the car.”

With a stunning beat shift, the two-part track also includes an explosive verse from Cortez Kenny, who references Erik Killmonger, the Black Panther supervillain that’s portrayed by Michael B. Jordan in Marvel’s upcoming Ryan Coogler-directed film. “Y’all want me under,” he raps. “All hail, King Killmonger.”

“King’s Dead” is the second single off Black Panther: The Album, the soundtrack for Black Panther that is being curated and produced by Kendrick, Anthony “Top Dawg” Tiffith, and TDE. The soundtrack is out Feb. 9, while the film hits theaters Feb. 16.

Listen to “King’s Dead” below.


Post a Comment

  • RSS
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin

Search Site

  • Pageviews past week