Visit The South's Rap Battle Home

Friday, April 20, 2018

Stream J. Cole’s New Album ‘KOD’

Posted by Unknown on 12:26 AM

The real is back. Two years after releasing 4 Your Eyez Only, J. Cole delivers his fifth studio album KOD, a multi-purpose acronym that stands for Kids on Drugs, King Overdosed, and Kill Our Demons.

Once again, Cole provides an album without any major guest appearances. Two features come from an artist called kiLL edward, who just might be Jermaine’s alter ego. Thus, KOD is another opportunity for Cole World to go platinum or better without features.

Before dropping the project, Jermaine explained its different meanings. “If I turn on the TV right now,” he said of Kids on Drugs, “it’s not going to take long for there to be an advertisement that pops up, that says, ‘Are you feeling down? Have you been having lonely thoughts?’ And then, they shove a pill in your face. The first response to any problems is medicate.”

King Overdosed is about his own dealings with escapism, including “alcohol, phone addiction, women.” Meanwhile, “Kill Our Demons” is about an end goal to face the problems we wish to escape head-on.

Aside from this, Cole has been tightlipped about the album. But fans who attended his private listening events are showering it with praise. “Thank you for the knowledge,” one listener said. “I appreciate every word. I truly learned a lot.” Another called it “amazing” and said “J. Cole changed the game again.”

This is J. Cole’s first full-length release since 2016’s 4 Your Eyez Only, a concept album about a friend who died. That album opened at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 with 492,000 equivalent album units in its first week.

Stream KOD below.

The post Stream J. Cole’s New Album ‘KOD’ appeared first on Rap-Up.


Post a Comment

  • RSS
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin

Search Site

  • Pageviews past week