Visit The South's Rap Battle Home

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Nick Cannon Covers SZA, Kehlani, & H.E.R.

Posted by Unknown on 3:24 PM

Nick Cannon is living the Dream. To promote Ncredible Gang’s latest single “Dream Girl,” the “Wild ‘N Out” host drops his three-song EP, Singing with Dream Girls, featuring covers of tracks by Kehlani, SZA, and H.E.R.

“I’m so excited about the buzz generated by my new single ‘Dream Girl’ that I thought it would be dope to cover a few of my favorite songs by ladies that I am currently inspired by,” he told Billboard. “Two of them being ladies that I have mentored, Kehlani and H.E.R.”

The first of these remakes is “The Weekend,” allowing Cannon to switch up some of SZA’s Grammy-nominated lyrics. “I am her man, and her man, and her man, and her man too,” he sings. “Tuesday and Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, keep all my bitches satisfied through the weekend.”

As part of the project, Nick takes on Kehlani’s “In My Feelings” as well. “I don’t know why I’m even still here,” he sings. “Can’t shake it off, I’ve been here for years on top of years / And I’m ready to fuck with you / ‘Cause I admit, that baby, I, I just may be stuck on you.”

Finally, he takes on H.E.R.’s “Facts.” “You were the one I was missing,” he sings with Auto-Tune. “The opposite of fiction / And that’s facts / Ooh, it’s a given / I don’t care ’bout opinions / And that’s facts.”

All of this is meant to promote Ncredible Gang’s “Dream Girl” single, which features Cannon, Jeremih, Quavo, and Ty Money. The song was first released as part of Nick’s The Gospel of Ike Turn Up, My Side of the Story in 2016. Last month, he released a video for the track featuring a flurry of furry puppies.

Up next, Cannon plans to drop a new album, Model Music, this spring. He is also set to write, direct, produce, and star alongside Chris Brown in She Ball, an independent film about women in street basketball.


Post a Comment

  • RSS
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin

Search Site

  • Pageviews past week